The female Golden Boot for 2010, Chelsea Coleman from Alstonville FC, with local women’s soccer stalwart, Val Dowse.
The female Golden Boot for 2010, Chelsea Coleman from Alstonville FC, with local women’s soccer stalwart, Val Dowse.

Football night of nights

Football Far North Coast has much to celebrate and last Saturday night was an opportunity to bring players and representatives from our 26 affiliated clubs together in the presence of sponsors and civic leaders for a gala evening. 250 people gathered in the Lismore Workers Club auditorium, which was transformed into a wonderful theatre to acknowledge team and individual performance. In a great example of community and regional unity, football’s contribution to the broader benefits of society were acknowledged. The proposed Asia Pacific Football Institute in conjunction with Southern Cross University was highlighted as an example of the spirit of progress in the game locally. The list of winners included The Northern Rivers Echo Golden Boot awards for both Premier Men and Premier Women. Dave Annetts from Goonellabah FC, with a total of 23 goals, and Chelsea Coleman, from Alstonville FC with 28 goals, were the respective winners. The other major winners on the night were:

Pointscore winners

Men’s Sixth Division: Lennox Head, 46pts

Men’s Fifth Division: Mullum/Bruns, 50pts

Women’s Fourth Division: Dunoon, 42 pts

Women’s Third Division: Bangalow, 48pts

Men’s Third Division: Italo Stars, 45 pts

Women’s Second Division: Casino, 51 pts

Men’s Second Division: Richmond Rovers, 47 pts

First Reserves: Lennox Head, 47 pts

First Division: Casino, 43 pts

FFNC Premier Reserve: Lismore Richmond Rovers, 44pts

Women’s Premier Division: Alstonville, 42 pts

FFNC Premier Division: Goonellabah, 49 pts

Dedication to Football: Steve Towner, South Lismore

Golden Boot Awards Open Division: Tiaharna Close, Casino (women’s 2nd division), 43 goals

Men’s Golden Boot Open Division: Steven Clifford, Ballina (men’s 5th division), 25 goals

Referee of the Year: Adam Coupe

Club Champions: Lismore Richmond Rovers

Premier Women’s Coach of the Year: Corey Loft, Lismore Workers Club

FFNC Women’s Premier Team of the Year 2010:

1. Tegan Blanch, Richmond Rovers

2. Christy Hopley, Bangalow

3. Renee Cowan, Lismore Workers

4. Laura St Ruth, Lismore Workers

5. Josie Bancroft, Lismore Workers

6. Ellie Fryer, Alstonville

7. Ruby Edwards, Alstonville

8. Sarah Flower, Lismore Richmond Rovers

9. Chloe Dunsmore, Bangalow

10. Chelsea Coleman, Alstonville

11. Hollie Jarrett, Bangalow

2010 Premier Division Female Player of the Year: Sarah Flower, Lismore Richmond Rovers

Premier Men’s Coach of the Year: Dave Lonie, Pottsville Beach

FFNC Men’s Premier Team of the Year 2010:

1. Brad Robertson, Goonellabah

2. Mitchell Flower, Richmond Rovers

3. Dane Seymour, Ballina

4. Dylan Rippon, Goonellabah

5. Paul Pomroy, Goonellabah

6. Anthony Alvos, Lismore Workers Club

7. Daniel Baxter-Wright, Alstonville

8. Aaron Heffernan, Richmond Rovers

9. Jonathon See, Lismore Richmond Rovers

10. Dave Annetts, Goonellabah

11. Dave Lonie, Pottsville Beach

2010 Premier Division Men’s Player of the Year: Dave Annetts, Goonellabah FC

The show must go on, and we will love it

The show must go on, and we will love it

Community wants to come together rain, hail or shine

Tailor and cut above the rest

Tailor and cut above the rest

Lismore's Bespoke Tailor

Don't forget gumboots

Don't forget gumboots

Lismore Show set to go for the weekend

Local Partners