Authors to fight it out for $600k in prize money

THE 2014 Prime Minister's Literary Awards are now open to entries from Australian authors, poets and historians.

Established in 2008, the Prime Minister's Literary Awards are Australia's richest literary prize with a total prize pool of $600,000 to winners and short listed authors across six categories.

The six award categories are fiction, non-fiction, Australian history, poetry, young adult fiction and children's fiction.

Winners are awarded $80,000 tax-free each and short listed authors receive $5,000 tax-free.

The Awards are open for books first published and made available for general sale in Australia between January 1 and December 31, 2013.

Entries close on February 28, 2014, at 5pm

Entry forms and eligibility guidelines are available here.

Topics:  authors books writing

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

Circa's new performance is a Peepshow

SHOW: Peepshow will premiere on the Northern Rivers.

The new production will have a Northern Rivers world premiere

Be the first to see controversial animated children's film

FURRY FRIENDS: Mopsy (Elizabeth Debicki), Flopsy (Margot Robbie), Benjamin, Bea (Rose Byrne), Peter Rabbit (James Corden) and Cottontail (Daisy Ridley) in Columbia Pictures' PETER RABBIT.

Advanced screening of Peter Rabbit in Lismore this weekend

Rosanna has designs on female taboo

Artist Rosanna Pimm uses 3500 porcelain tampons to created her large scale performance installation  Riots of Passage in The Quad  as part of The Lismore Women's Festival on International Women's Day. Laying down and de-constructing the mandala structure symbolises the impermanence of the menstrual cycle and an end to female inequality in the world.

Rosanna has designs on female taboo

Local Partners